UNILAG Graduates 12,811 Students, 271 Obtains 1st Class Degrees

UNILAG Graduates 12,811 Students, 271 Obtains 1st Class Degrees

Authorities of the University of Lagos, UNILAG has revealed that the total of 12,811 students of the institution would be graduating / receiving degrees, diplomas and certificates at its 2017/2018 51st Convocation Ceremonies, scheduled for April 1st to April 5th 2019.

SEE ALSO: UNIPORT Graduates 9,452 Students, 106 Bags 1st Class Honours

A total of 271 students of the institution would be graduating with First Class Degrees.

During the break down of the first class graduates, The Vice Chancellor of the Institution, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, had during the pre-convocation news conference on Wednesday in Lagos, disclosed that 56 of graduands to receive first class degrees were from the Faculty of Engineering UNILAG.

He said of the total number of graduands, 7,406, representing 57.8 per cent, would bag first degrees or diploma, while 5,405 others representing 42.2 per cent would receive postgraduate degrees.

He further revealed that in the classes of degrees, a total of 2,277 students would be graduating in the Second Class Upper division, while 3,116 others would graduate in the Second Class Lower Division.

The vice chancellor said that 1, 197 other graduating students would be awarded Third Class.

He said that 131 others were in the Pass category, while 414 of the students will be honoured with degrees or diplomas that were not classified.

“The best graduating students with Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 4.96 at this year’s convocation are Joedicta Eke, from the Faculty of Pharmacy; Adeniyi Adeyeye, Department of Insurance, and Daniel Ogbechi, Department of Business Administration, both of the Faculty of Management Sciences.

“In the Postgraduate category, we will be awarding 150 Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees, three of whom were under my supervision, 4, 771 Masters degrees and 484 Postgraduate diplomas.

SEE ALSO: NAUB Matriculated 1,016 Pioneer Students

“The best PhD Thesis in Science would be awarded to Ayodele Ajibade, of the Department of Metallurgical and Material Engineering, while Oyewole Oyebade of the Department of Philosophy, will receive best thesis award for Humanities. “Ayodele Ajibade will also receive the overall best Thesis award.

Lastly, The vice chancellor said that the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, would deliver the institution’s convocation lecture on April 1.

The theme of the lecture is: ‘Nigeria Rising; The Path to Prosperity’.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.